Text size A A A
Follow Vintage on facebook twitter

Our Aircraft Categories

Members of the Vintage Aircraft Association own, fly, or just admire all kinds of airplanes.  One does not need to own or operate a vintage aircraft to be a member of VAA.  However, for the purposes of show judging, special showplane parking or camping at airshows, and general discussion, we divide vintage aircraft into the following categories.  Many of our members concentrate on a specific category of aircraft within VAA.



Antique – December 17, 1903 through August 31, 1945

Classic – September 1, 1945 through December 31, 1955

Contemporary – January 1, 1956 through December 31, 1970



Click here to lean more about our aircraft categories, our judging teams, view past award-winning aircraft, and guidelines for judging.





Follow Vintage on facebook twitter